Canada: East Coast/West Coast

I really enjoyed this conversation with Mark Anthony Jarman and Bill Gaston:

http://fiddleheadwest-malahateast.blogspot.ca/2012/10/snag-bystander-with-hook-jay-ruzeskys.html

The interview is lovely and funny and insightful. I haven’t lived on either Canadian coast, but I’m currently adapting to the west coast of Southern California after living in the Midwest and Ontario, and I’ve been thinking a lot about home and away, adjustments to new places, and regional writing. I’m curious to try to find the Henry James story that Mark Jarman mentions:

“MAJ: I really worried about the move, that I’d regret it and not be able to get back. Henry James has a story about a man who wonders what his life would have been if he hadn’t left, and that idea interests me.”

Leave a Reply

